ABVP Won DUSU Elections; NSUI Smells Conspiracy

Ankiv Basoya, Shakti Singh and Jyoti Choudhary, of ABVP grasped the posts of president, vice-president and joint secretary respectively in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections.

National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) candidate Akash Choudhary has won the post of secretary.

NSUI on Thursday claimed counting of the votes deceitful as earlier in the day, the election board adjourned the counting of votes as six EVMs used for voting were found to be malfunctioning. NSUI accused ABVP of using undemocratic means to win elections.

Ankiv Basoya got 20,467 votes while his rival Sunny Chhillar from NSUI got 18,723 votes. Shakti Singh received 23,046 votes against NSUI rival Leena’s 15,373 votes.

Reports say some ruckus also broke out at the counting centre today. Police called in extra force to the spot to bring the situation under control.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has clarified that the EVMs used in the DUSU elections were not provided by them or the state election commission and were procured privately by the university.